This is official blog of Awami Tahreek, Sindh, Pakistan.

Wednesday, 6 April 2011

Chronological History Of Awami Tahreek 1977 to 1985

The Chronological History of Revolutionary Political, Educational & Cultural struggles of Awami Tahreek (Peoples Movement) & its Founders.

1977 to 1985

09-01-1977  Sindhi Hari (committee) Tahreek's first convention and marvelous Hari gathering at Peerano Lund Mirpur Bathoro. Dr. Feorz, Jeejee Zarina Baloch, Sher Khan Lund, Rasool Bux Jabal Detho, Ghafar Qazi, Ali Sodho, Mohammad Hasan Rustamani, Ayaz Latif Palijo, Ismail Soho, Yousif Keerano and others demanded genuine land reforms and release of Rasool Bux Palijo and Fazil Rahoo.

20-04-1977  Foundation of Sindhi Shagird Tahreek (SST) Sindhi Student's National, democratic, revolutionary and scientific organization (Sindhi Students Movement).

05-07-1977 Awami Tahreek Central Committee condemned Army Rule and unlike other Sindhi and Nationalist Organizations announced that it would resist martial-law.

1977 October Awami Tahreek organized intense public campaign for the proposed General Elections and nominated candidates for provincial seats from Golarchi, Mirpur Bathoro, Tando Mohammad Khan, Mirpur Sakro, Juhi, Warah and Thatta.

1977-1986: Rasool Bux Palijo was imprisoned in Sukkur, Karachi, Landhi, Khairpur, Hyderabad and Kot Lakhpat Jails by the martial law authorities, with a brief gape of 2 months.

22-03-1978 Protest rallies of thousands of men and women of Awami Tahreek against the martial law of General Zia and illegal decision of Assassination of ZA Bhutto.

1978 Awami Tahreek leadership from prison announced Bhutto Bachayo Tahreek (Save Bhutto Struggle). Maader-e-Sindh Jeejee Zarina Baloch leads first exclusive women protest rally in Hyderabad. Sindhi women threw their bangles on police.

27-04-1978 Active part by Awami Tahreek, Sindhi Hari Tahreek and Sindhi Shagird Tahreek (SST) in the struggle of journalists against the dictatorship. Awami Tahreek activists offer volunteer court arrests. Hundreds imprisoned. GN Mughal, Minhaj Birna, Mujahid Berelvi and others welcome Awami Tahreeks historical role.

1978 Sindhi Shagrid Tahreek joins country wide Shagrid Itehad namely Pakistan Progressive Student Alliance (PPSA) for democratic struggle.

13-06-1978 establishment of an Awami struggle Committee comprising of 21 organizations against Marshal Law in Karachi.

06-09-1978 Sindhi Mazdoor Tahreek (SMT), labour front of Awami Tahreek formed.

08-09-1978 Ayaz Latif Palijo, Feroz Khuaja and Ismail Rahoo founded Sujag Bar Tahreek (SBT) (Sindhi childrens Movement)

1979 January Formation of country wide progressive and democratic alliance Pakistan Awami Tahreek.

09-10-1979 Awami Tahreek arranged first mega convention and protest show of Sindhi Peasants in the history of Pakistan and challenged General Zia-ul-Haq in Rahooki Badin Haree Conference. Fazil Rahoo, Sayed Alam Shah, Jeejee Zareena Baloch, Ghulam Qadir Palijo, Husain Bux Narejo, Idris Mirani, Dr. Aslam Parvez, Muhabat Buriro, Ayaz Latif Palijo, Gul Chang, Qadir Ranto, Ghaffar Qazi, Ameen Khanani, Mohammad Khan Bhurgri, Amanullah Bapar and others in the mammoth crowd one hundred and fifty thousands of peasants condemned Zia and his martial law. Followed by arrests of entire leadership of Awami Tahreek, tortures and koraas.

1979 Jeejee Zareena Baloch arrested and imprisoned in Sukkur and Karachi Jails for leading the protests against General Zia ul Haq's Martial-Law.

1981 Awami Tahreek played significant role in the formation of MRD and became the first party to sign its declaration presented by Begum Nusrat Bhutto.

1981: Mr. Palijo was declared as Prisoner of Conscience by Amnesty International.

1982 AT Rallies and demonstrations all over the Sindh in Solidarity with Palestinians.

30-04-1982 AT observed death anniversary of its former president Mir Ali Bux Talpur in Chatori.

27-11-1982 Awami Tahreek crosses yet another traditional barrier of South Asia by launching the first ever progressive and exclusive women organization in the history of sub-continent, the Sindhiani Tahreek (Sindhi Womens Movement).

14-08-1983 Awami Tahreek and Sindhiani Tahreek played historical role in struggle against Zia and its dictatorship from the platform of MRD. It became the first progressive organized party of Pakistan with largest number of workers behind the bars.  Daily Guardian London declared it as a genuine threat to General Zia.

1984, January AT publishes Organizational Magazine 'Parore'.

1984 Rasool Bux Palijo in serious condition admitted to Meo Hospital Lahore. Ayaz Latif Palijo, Jeejee Zareena Baloch, Ghulam Qadir Palijo, Professor Aziz-u-

Din Ahmed, Pervez Inayat Malik, Gul Hasan Arab Keerano an others led rallies in Lahore.

1985 Struggle of SST under the slogan of stop the Ghunda Gardi (violence) in educational institutions of Sindh against the so-called nationalist ghundas (gangsters). During the Zias period 1977-86 so-called nationalist ghundas under the patronage of Deputy Martial-Law Administrator kidnapped, tortured and rapped hundreds of students related to SST, DSF and SPSF and dozens of teachers and writers.

1985-1986 Protest movement against the prolonged imprisonment of the Prisoner of Conscience Mr. Rasool Bux Palijo.

1985 Historical Peasant Convention by Awami Tahreek and SHT in Jalalani, Tando Mohd Khan. Qadir Ranto, Qazi Ghaffar, Jeejee Zarina Baloch, Mohammad Khan Bhurgri, Akhter Baloch, Wishnoo Mal, Ayaz Latif Palijo, Shahnaz Rahoo, Suleman Dahri, Mushtaq Nizamani, Faiz Mohammad Talpur, Muneer Bhurgri, Bakht Jamal, Ayoob Shaikh, Dr. Nazir Shaikh, Karam Wasan, Ghulam Nabi Bahrani, Hussain Bux Narejo, Mohammad Khan Magsi, Noor Nabi Rahoojo, Ghaffar Khoso, Kahdim Talpur, Haji Qasim Mallah, Siraj Sial, Siddiq Sandh, Gul Hasan Keerano, Qasim Mirjat, Dr. Khalil Qazi, Sohbat Buriro, Rehana Shaikh, Zorawar Jarwar, Sajida Shaikh, Saeeda Metlo, Zareena Narejo, Khair Mohammad Leghari, Akash Ansari, Abdul Rehman Lashari, Nasreen Memon, Shahar Banoo Keerano, Karam Kaloi, Manzoor Chajro, Nisar Mangrio, Ibrahim Sarang, Lakhmeer Dahri, Akbar Manganhar, Lal Jarwar, Ali Gul Metlo, Hakeem Halepoto, Ismail Rahoo, Wazeer Ghunjho, Hasan Ali Bapar, Mohammad Ali Palh and others demand the restoration of democracy and release of Rasool Bux Palijo and Fazil Rahoo.

No comments:

Post a Comment